Cosmopolitan’s Self Made Summit 2017

If you follow me on Instagram, or twitter, or any form of social media really (I have been going on about it a fair bit…), you’ll know that yesterday I went to Cosmopolitan’s first ever Self Made Summit. The event was aimed at helping aspiring bloggers, business women, or anyone just looking for a change of career, find inspiration from those who have been there and done it for themselves. 6:50 this morning, I was up and on the train to London, ready for a full day of fashion, business and social media antics.Β The event was absolutely incredible and I left feeling completely inspired. I also left with a cracking goodie bag (check out my Instagram story today to see what stuff I got), my hair done (for free!!) and a tummy full of food and drink. Hats off to Cosmo for pulling off such a well organised and informative event. I want to use this blog post to share with you some of the lessons I took from today and a few of the highlights.

cosmo 6

I started off in a talk about the power of social media and how it can be used to launch a brand, whether that brand be a product or whether that brand is you. The fantastic Alice Liveing (Clean Eating Alice) and Louise Pentland (Sprinkle of Glitter) were just a few of the inspirational faces on the panel. I am a huge social media fan and so this talk was a must. The key lesson I took away from this session was authenticity.

cosmo 1

All the speakers agreed that there has to be a reason behind what you’re doing beyond simply making money. If used correctly, as these people have, social media is a great tool for education and a creative outlet for you to share your journey with others. Another really key lesson for me was being confident with your language on social media. As someone who suffers from anxiety, I struggle a lot with this and tend to find myself constantly looking for assurance when online. It is super important to be confident and assertive with your content. It is yours after all and you need to be authentic to you. Would Beyonce apologise for her Instagram picture? No she most certainly would not!Β 

cosmo 2

Next up was a talk about developing your blog into a brand. Once again, I listened to some incredible women who I have watched on YouTube and followed on Instagram and who have inspired my journey. A key lesson to take from this was to be yourself. The number of people on social media is mad and so, in order to make yourself stand out, it is really important your personality shines through. There is no point trying to copy someone else as that isn’t you. Success comes from individuality, dedication and, once again, authenticity.

cosmo 3

 

Finally, my last talk was giving by Stella Creasy (MP), Marcia Kilgore (Founder of Soap and Glory, Beauty Pie and FitFlop) and Louse Pentland. I took a huge amount from this that really inspired me going into the networking session. Imagine you’ve got a sky. You want to put as many stars in that sky as possible. You might not love every single star, but one day they will all come together and you’ll see the constellation. In less metaphorical language, you’re not going to love everything but everything is adding to your networking and helping to build you as a person. The good, the bad and the ugly – they all make up who you are. Another key piece of advice, and something I think is difficult when starting out, is to remember it’s not all about you. It’s about what you want to change and having an awareness of the bigger picture as well as a self awareness.

cosmo 4

I would like to end with a quote from my absolute favourite speaker of the day. Starting off in Hooters, Katharine Ryan has taken to British comedy world by absolute storm. Her talk was honest and inspirational and really made me consider my priorities and outlook (Cringe but true). She reminded us that, it’s okay to be vulnerable and still be a #GIRLBOSS (a book I read on the train back and absolutely adored!!). A final word I think we can all benefit from, whatever out journey, and certainly something I will take with me into the gym, my work and this blog – ‘never expect to be good at something right away.’Β 

Jamie x

cosmo 7

Leave a Reply

