Staying Positive

We all lose motivation from time to time and it can be hard to stay positive when you’re not seeing results all the time, it’s completely normal! Struggling with anxiety means sometimes it can be a struggle to do anything, never mind get up and go to the gym. We all have good days and bad days, it’s just important to stay focused and keeping positive. Here are my top tips for getting the motivation back and keeping positive about your workout.

1) Look at your before pictures to see how far you’ve come. 

It can be easy to forget how far you’ve come when you’re looking at yourself every day. I would really recommend taking some pictures of yourself throughout your journey. You don’t have to share these with anyone but it gives you something to look at when you’re feeling low and remind you how far you have come. I find this really motivates me to keep going.

2) Mix up your gym routine and try something a bit different.

When you’re doing the same thing everyday it can get a little bit tedious, particularly if you’re not seeing results. This isn’t to say give up on it, definitely stick with it and keep trying, but spicing things up a little bit can be a fab way to give you some ‘get up and go’. I like to watch YouTube videos or take a look at Instagram and see what different things people are doing. If you’re stuck, chat to the people who work in your gym and ask for advice. The staff in my gym at University have been great and shown me loads of ways I can mix up my routine and get my confidence back.

3) Don’t be too hard on yourself.

Everyone has bad days and you’re allowed to give yourself some time off to focus on your mental wellbeing. It’s all about taking baby steps, you are not going to see results over night. It’s a long process and you’re doing the best you can. If you’re really struggling remember it’s okay not to be okay and asking for help is nothing to be ashamed of. There are loads of different places you can get support from – don’t struggle on your own.

4) Use social media.

Social media has been an amazing way for me to stay motivated. The online fitness community are so inspiring and motivational. Most of these people I have never met, but I consider them my friends. You don’t have to share everything with everyone, just what you feel comfortable with, but documenting your journey is a great way to track progress and stay positive.

5) Train with a friend (or just talk to a friend!). 

Training with someone else can give you that push you need. You don’t want to be that friend that doesn’t turn up! If you haven’t got anyone to train with (which most of the time I don’t!), remember you can always talk to them about how you’re feeling. Not all of the people in my life have been supportive of my fitness journey and that is not what you need. I have some fantastic friends who, although don’t do it themselves, have supported and helped me.

6) Prepare your things the night before. 

When your alarm goes off at 7am and you’ve got nothing ready, it can be really tempting to switch it off and go back to sleep. If you get everything sorted the night before it saves you a job in the morning and you’re already in the mindset that you are getting up and going. I also like to prepare my breakfast the night before (over night oats are the best for this!!), which saves time and gives me something to get up for.

Let me know if you use any of these tips and, if you need some motivation, pop me a comment and I’ll get back to you! Also, would love to hear your tips for staying positive on your weight loss journey.

Jamie x

Leave a Reply

