How #GIRLBOSS changed my outlook.

It may have been two weeks since the Cosmopolitan Self Made Summit but, yes, I am still going on about it. For that, I do not apologise. I took so many lessons from the day, far beyond simply lessons in business. In the goodie bag at the end of the day we got given to book #GIRLBOSS, written by Sophia Amoruso the founder and CEO of Nasty Gal. I have wanted to read this book for ages but never had the chance. I started it on the train back from London, by the time I got home I had finished it with a completely new outlook. I know what you’re thinking, bloody hell, Jamie can read fast, yes that is true. You’re probably also thinking that I am being super cringe saying that a book changed my outlook but it 100% did and here’s why.

Not only did the book teach me a hell of a lot about what it takes to make it (and survive) in the world of business, it also taught me a hell of a lot about life. I am a bit of a perfectionist, which is a good thing in some respects, but it also means I don’t allow myself to slip up. If I make mistakes I can’t accept them and move on – they take over my life. I stress and I think I am either a failure or a terrible human being. This book taught me that, actually, we all cock up – both in our careers and in life. We are going to make mistakes and we are going to do things that aren’t necessarily ‘good’. This doesn’t make us bad people, this makes us human. It’s about how we learn from our cock ups and how we do not let them define us. Not only is this resilience vital in the world of work but it is also pretty important in day to day life. I’m an over-thinker and any thing I do that doesn’t quite fit with this idea I have of being ‘perfect’ leads to a lot of self hatred – THIS IS NOT HEALTHY. Yes, this is not going to go away by reading a book but do not underestimate the power of knowing you’re not the only one who has done shitty things or made mistakes. Everyone has and that doesn’t mean you’re not a good person and it certainly doesn’t mean you’re not a #GIRLBOSS.

Next lesson: Shitty jobs might just be the secret to success. Hear me out on this one… Remember my Cosmo Self Made Summit post? (If not, read it!!) Remember the stars and needing to get enough stars in order to see the constellation? That is exactly why it is okay to not love everything. A lot of people say you should not waste your time with things you don’t enjoy, but I don’t believe it is a waste of time. I think being open to things you don’t enjoy helps you to grow as a person and means you pick up new life lessons. You can’t be top dog straight away – you have to hustle. 

Finally, I AM THE ANTIFASHION, a chapter in the book, really hit home. I’ve never really fit in. I’ve tried bloody hard but this has left me sad, unaccomplished and pretty lonely. What #GIRLBOSS taught me was that it is okay to be a bit of a weirdo. In fact, it’s a lot more than okay, it’s pretty vital. ‘You’ is good and ‘you’ is what makes you different to everyone else. It’s okay to look like a bit of an idiot sometimes and it’s okay not to do what everyone else is doing. If you follow the same path as everyone else you will never reach your goals. Be weird and embrace it!! 

Since reading this book I have felt so motivated and ready to take on the world. So watch this space because this #GIRLBOSS is ready for the hustle. 

Jamie x

#GIRLBOSS

Leave a Reply

