Let’s ‘Twerk It Out’: Spicing Up Your Routine.

For those of you that have been following my blog for a while now, you will know that I am not the biggest fan of cardio. The weight room is where I feel most comfortable and that makes up most of my training. I have recently starting to increase my cardio (I’m now trying to do 15 minutes 4 times a week, stress on the word trying…). Anyway, recently I decided I would spice up my cardio and go to a gym class.

Now, ‘Twerk It Out’ is not the class I signed up for. The plan was to go on Tuesday evening for a nice bit of yoga. But, plans changed, and instead I found myself in the gym on Wednesday night twerking it out to a bit of Shakira, sweating to the point I looked like I’d just stepped out of the shower (not a pretty sight!). Much to my surprise, I loved the class! It was exhausting and challenging in an entirely different way to what I am used to, but trying something a bit different really helped motivate me.

I talk a lot about consistency being key, but I also think that variety is the spice of life. Since ‘twerk it out’, I’ve been experimenting with loads of different classes which have really pushed me. Classes are a really great way to try something new, meet new people and stay motivated, but spicing up your training doesn’t have to mean getting up at the crack of dawn and jumping on a spin bike. I have also been trying some new weight training exercises. My programme is still pretty simple and is great in helping my hit all the key muscle groups and build up strength but, after 5 months on the same programme, it can sometimes get a little bit tedious. So I don’t lose motivation I have been trying some new things, getting inspiration from YouTubers, fellow bloggers and my new ‘Everyday Fitness’ book.

Trying something a bit different can make the usually boring stuff (I’m looking at your cardio..) actually quite fun. 10 minutes on a cross trainer and I am ready to call it a day but a whole hour twerking it out flew by. It might be that the exercise you are doing just isn’t for you and it’s important to be realistic when training. If there is no way you’re going to spend 30 minutes on a treadmill, why not schedule in your programme a class or go swimming or brave the outdoors and go for a walk? Enjoying what you’re doing is what will keep you motivated so don’t be scared to try something new and be a beginner again. Not everything will work for everyone so spicing it up will help you find your strengths.

Over the next few weeks I will be trying out lots of new stuff and sharing videos on my Instagram to hopefully inspire you to spice up your routine. Let me know what sort of stuff you get up to when you’re looking for a bit of change.Β 

But, for now… back to the weights room.

Jamie x

gym

Leave a Reply

