Dealing with negativity.

A few weeks ago I posted the following picture on my Instagram.

progress

I am completely unashamed of this picture and incredibly proud of my progress. Unfortunately, not everyone thought the same as I did.

The sad truth is, some people are dicks.

I decided to do a post about dealing with negativity and ways I have overcome it, when it is from other people and when it is from myself.

Dealing with negativity from others:

It can be really disheartening when you start a new project, whether that be your fitness journey or something else, and you do not get the reaction or support you expected. Unfortunately, not everyone is going to be supportive of your decisions and that is more of a reflection of them than it is of you. Never be ashamed of what makes you happy and prioritising yourself.

Social media is great, but it can also be pretty scary and a platform that many people do not use in a positive way. Your social media is exactly that, it is yours and it is important that it is an authentic reflection of you and not of the people around you. Even the biggest Instagram, Vlogging and Blogging stars started off with no followers and they built it up with dedication and hard work. If other people can make it, why can’t you?

Keep at it, whatever your journey is. If people are not supporting you then you need to surround yourself with people that will. For every ‘friend’ that I have lost, I have made another that has been far more supportive of my goals, whether they can relate or not. There is a huge and incredibly welcome fitness community out there so don’t worry, you are not alone.

Dealing with negativity from yourself:

This is perhaps the harder battle. Again, whatever your journey is, everyones motivation drops ever so often. It may not be presented like that on social media, but remember that is usually life with all the bad bits filtered out. There are a few tips and tricks I have picked up along the way that have helped me to deal with my own negativity.

  1. Start a journal or something where you are tracking your progress, making realistic goals and a clear plan of how you are going to achieve them. Having something visual to help you see how far you have come on your journey is really useful in helping you get your motivation back.
  2. Focus on yourself. I know this is easier said than done, but everyone’s journey is different and people will progress at different times. I was really disheartened to start with when I was scrolling through social media and seeing people making incredible physical gains, however, they had been on their journey for far longer than I had. Try not to compare yourself to others, strive only to be better than your previous self.
  3. Get yourself a gym buddy (or someone with similar goals to you!). You can help motivate and support each other. Training with someone else is a great way to help you both achieve your goals whilst conquering negativity.
  4. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Be sure to give yourself a break ever so often. There is no shame in having a rest, whether than be having a lie in or eating a slice of cake. You need to be consistent but you also need to be realistic and mental wellbeing is just as important.
  5. Talk to someone. It might not be a case of heading out training with someone, sometimes just talking to an old friend or even someone who is a part of the online fitness community is a great way to help you deal with negativity and remind yourself that you are not alone and everyone has blips.

Negativity from others can, of course, lead to negativity from yourself and if you’re really struggling, remember there is no shame in seeking professional help. There are loads of numbers you can ring for confidential advice.

So there you have it. Negativity is something everyone faces and is completely normal. What is important is that you are able to pick yourself back up from it and come back stronger than ever (metaphorically and literally…)Β 

A little note to those who have not been as supportive…

I will not apologise for doing something I love. I will not apologise for prioritising my physical and mental health. And I will not apologise for my body. If people have a problem with pictures like the one above, then they better be unfollowing me because, believe me, there’s going to be a lot more where that came from.Β 

Jamie x

2 thoughts on “Dealing with negativity.

Leave a Reply

