My Summer Goals: Fitness and Non-fitness

Incase you haven’t already worked out from my other blog posts, I am a big fan of making lists. I have a huge stash of pretty note pads all full of different lists and life plans. I actually find making lists really therapeutic and it helps me stay focused. I decided to share with you my summer goals, partly so you guys can see what I’m going to be getting up to and partly for a bit of accountability. When you’re making goals it is super important for your to be realistic, both in fitness and non-fitness plans. Setting huge goals that will take ages to achieve is likely to leave you feeling unmotivated. I prefer to make smaller goals so I am constantly seeing progress and, if things are working out for me, I can have a bit of a rethink.

First up, we will start with my fitness goals.

  1. 70kg squats for 5×5. It wasn’t too long ago that I squatted 70kg for 2 reps. I was knackered and my form was dodgy. I decided it was important for me to go a bit slower in order to prevent any injuries and make sure I was getting the most from my training. I went back down to 55kg and have focused on building up my strength and confidence with that. It is now becoming quite easy for me and my form is improving loads. I am hoping that before I go back to uni I will have built up the strength to be able to brave 70kg again.
  2. Maintain my gym log book. For someone who likes writing things down, I am embarrassingly bad at this, which means I always forget what I was lifting last time and end up making slower progress or over stretching myself. Everyone recommends keeping a log book, even I recommended keeping a log book (!!!), so I really need to take my own advice and start doing this properly again.
  3. Fit LISS into my training programme 2-4 times a week. Okay, here it goes… I am actually starting to like cardio. Okay, maybe like is a strong word but I am certainly finding in tolerable and I am seeing HUGE progress, which is really motivating. I find LISS the best option for me when it comes to maintaining muscle and it also has next to no recovery time, which means I can get right back to the weights the next day!
  4. Do a pull up. This had been my goal for ages but recently I have really started to focus on being able to achieve this. My upper body strength is doing quite well but I’m a lot of weight for my poor arms to take. I’ve been incorporating assisted pull ups into my programme, which I am hoping will help me progress and maybe… just maybe… we might see a pull up in the next 3 months.
  5. Listen to more podcasts, read more books and make more brain gains. I am loving listening to my podcasts and educating myself on fitness and weight training. It has meant that not only can I share more information with you but my training sessions have been a lot more informed and I am really making the most of them. It’s really empowering to not just do something but to know why you are doing it.

jamie

 

I also have some non-fitness related goals that I want to share with you guys.

  1. Read more. I used to absolutely love reading but, since starting my degree, I have not really done a lot of reading for pleasure. My aim this summer to is get started on my reading list that has accumulated over the past year and, with two holidays on the horizon, I’ll definitely be able to find the time.
  2. Train Arlo (my new puppy)If you follow me on Instagram you will know all about my new puppy. We waited until summer to get him so I could be a home for 3 months and train him. When I say train, I mean more like cuddle and take a ridiculous amount of pictures of… My aim is to make sure he just knows the basics and doesn’t do a number 2 in the house because I’m really not sure Mum would be able to cope with that one.
  3. Improve my video editing. So, I started YouTube. I am quite honestly the least technical person in the whole (which is odd for a blogger and radio presenter). Don’t get me wrong, I like a bit of social media but video editing is really taking me out of my comfort zone. Now I have to time I would like to develop my skills to have make my YouTube videos a but more fancy.
  4. Practise mindfulness. I really suck at mindfulness. It’s been recommended to me loads to help deal with anxiety and mental health issues but I really just cannot get my head around it. My main goal is not exactly to become a master of mindfulness, but to find time everyday for me. When you’re busy at uni, it can be easy to get swept up in uni life and never find time to work on your own mental and physical health. This summer that is a huge focus for me.
  5. Spend more time with my family. I have a huge family and yet most of the time it’s just me and Mum. Don’t get me wrong, I love Mum more than anything else, but I really want to use this summer to spend some time and get to know my family. Heading back home from uni can be kind of lonely and last summer I really struggled with anxiety as I had nothing to focus my energy on and sitting on my own was driving me stir crazy. This year I am going to make an active effort to prevent that happening again.

 

arlo.jpg

So there you have my summer goals! Let me know what your plans are for summer and what makes it on to your summer goals list.

Jamie x

Leave a Reply

