Picking yourself back up

Bad sessions. We all have them. It can be really demotivating when you’re working really hard and not seeing progress or struggling with and injury or, simply, just not being in the mood. The trick is being able to pick yourself back up after a bad session and getting back on it. When I first started training, I would say I had at least 1 bad session every week. First it was deadlifts, I dreaded it all week. Once I conquered that it was squats. The only way to deal with these bad sessions is to stick your middle finger up to them and work even harder.

Here are my top tips for picking yourself back up after a bad session.

  1. Write down why it went wrong. It could be related to sleep, what you’ve been eating, mental preparation, warm ups etc. These things can all have an impact on your session and by assessing the reasons why it didn’t go too well, you can rectify them. Writing it down is a good way of understanding why you have had a bad session and working out ways to deal with the issue without being irrational.
  2. Look back at how far you have come. It is for times like this that I bring out my progress pictures and see how far I have come. When I have bad sessions I often feel like I have made no progress and feel very downhearted with training. Being able to see your progress visually is a great way to pick yourself back up.
  3. Put it into perspective. One good session is not going to change your body over night, similarly, one bad session is not going to reverse all your hard work. Your fitness journey is exactly that, it’s a journey and it needs to be seen like that. Your progress is never going to be linear.
  4. Spice things up. If you’re continuously having bad sessions it could be down to boredom. When you’ve been doing one programme for a long time it can be easy to feel a bit fed up and your progress might start to slow down. Have a google and look for a different programme or even just a few different exercises to bring into your training sessions to add a bit of excitement to things.
  5. Train with someone. I know this isn’t always possible and I train on my own most of the time but I always find when I am training with someone else I feel far more motivated and enjoy my session a lot more. Having a training buddy with you ever so often is a greta way to pick yourself up after a bad session and it gives you someone to be accountable to. You might even want to consider looking in to getting yourself a personal trainer if you’re really struggling – I know they are expensive but there is nothing wrong with investing in yourself and your progress.

So, there you have it. My top tips for picking yourself back up after a bad session. These are definitely easier said than done and bad sessions can really put a downer on things but give these a try and remember how far you have come.

What do you guys do to pick yourself up after a bad session? Let me know in the comments below. 

Jamie x 

gym

Leave a Reply

