Braving YouTube…

Starting a blog can be scary. Putting your thoughts and interests (and in my case, often shocking grammar) out there for the world to see is scary stuff. When I started this blog I was terrified that people would judge me for setting up a blog (particularly about fitness) but, since starting, the support has been overwhelming and I absolutely love it! I decided to take it one step further and brave the world of YouTube.

So far I have made 2 Vlogs about my day to day life, fitness journey and gym sessions. I don’t have a lot of subscribers, I don’t have loads of views and my editing skills are very questionable (really selling it, aren’t I?) but, you know what? It doesn’t matter. I am still actually pretty proud of myself. Putting myself out there was not the only challenge I faced starting YouTube. For a blogger I am not really the most technical. Don’t get me wrong, I am learning and getting a lot better, but editing a video and getting it up on YouTube seemed like a long shot. However, I managed it! I haven’t got any fancy programmes or a fancy camera (not yet anyway). I am simply using my phone, a camera stand and iMovie.

The main intention of my blog is to make fitness more accessible because, sorry to be cliched but, if I can do it then I really believe that anybody can. I guess my experience with YouTube is similar. If you’ve got something you love and you fancy giving YouTube a try, then go for it! People are going to judge whatever you do, so you might as well be doing something you enjoy. There are a lot of people Blogging and Vlogging, but that does not mean that you shouldn’t give it a go. Everyone starts somewhere. My somewhere is at Jamie Lee Jenkins and you can check out my videos and see what I’m getting up to. If you enjoy them, please like and subscribe! I would love any feedback or suggestion for what you guys would like to see. I was recently part of a Bloggers chat on Twitter (if you haven’t joined one you should go for it!)Β and we were discussing how we measure success as Bloggers and Vloggers. It’s easy to look at your numbers and judge it solely on that, but it is about so much more. Of course it is nice to know your work is appreciated but it’s more important to appreciate yourself and the work you create.

I know my videos aren’t great but I’ll get there and, when I do, I know I’ll be extremely proud. 10 subscribers or 10,000.Β 

Jamie xΒ 

cropped-header.png

Leave a Reply

