Going to see a Physio…

So, after months of maybe going to see a physio but not going to see a physio, I decided I really did need to go and see a physio. It took me a while to finally admit I had a squat probably that simply piling more weight on top of and totally ignoring was not going to fix. I thought I would share with you guys how my experience went, just incase you’re thinking about going to see one but feeling a little bit apprehensive.

For starters, it was £35 for the hour. Now I know this seems like a lot of money but hear me out. I would spend £35 on a meal out or a new dress, no problem so why not spend it to invest in my health, safety and future? Once I had decided that I could justify spending that sort of money, I toyed with the idea of whether or not I actually needed to go. Would I go in and just leave feeling like a bit of a wuss? I then decided that if it was enough of a problem to prevent me achieving my goals, it was enough of a problem to seek some level of help for. So, I rang up and made my appointment.

The physiotherapist was so nice and put me at ease straight away. We talk for a little bit about the problems I was facing and then he gave me an in depth assessment. Sounds scary but it really isn’t. Basically, this meant me doing a few simple exercises and him assessing where the problems were coming from based on how well I could do them. Don’t get me wrong, some hurt a little but I guess that was the point. He then had a bit of a play with my ankles (I’m sure it was more technical than a play but I have no idea…) and I tried the exercises again. Once we had sussed the problems it was a case of working out what I could do about it. He gave me a lot of exercises to be trying for the mean time and I left feeling hopeful that one day I will conquer the squat.

Going to see a physio is not for everyone but I am so glad I decided to go. Just knowing exactly where my issues are means I am one step closer to being able to deal with it effectively. It also led to me challenging a lot of my preconceived concepts about fitness and what I actually need and don’t need. I rave about foam rolling and have been doing it religiously twice a day to try and get rid of any muscle tightness. I have just been left extremely bruised and not a lot looser. He basically said that these things are not for everyone and I should consider dropping down how often I foam roll. Sometimes it is helpful to have your ideas challenged and to try new things out. Fitness is not a one size fits all, so its worth chatting to someone and hearing what they have to say.

If you have any more questions about my appointment, feel free to pop me a message or check out my YouTube video on Investing in Yourself where I talk all about my experience. 

Jamie x 

cropped-header.png

Leave a Reply

