Why I’ve decided to do a PT course.

If you’d have told me a year ago that I would be taking a course to be a PT, I would have laughed in your face and slumped back down on the sofa where I unashamedly spent most of my time. Yet, last week I signed up for a PT course with HFE. For many, including myself, this is a bit of a shock. At school I would avoid PE at all costs and I was never really interested in going to gym gym. So, what changed? Why have I now decided to do a PT course?

Nb. This is about to get really deep so hold on tight. 

I started my history degree in 2015 and the plan was to go into politics. I had always struggled with my mental health and I thought that academia was my escape. What I learnt at University, is that academia was actually part of the problem. I was becoming completely disillusioned with my degree and stressed about what to do with my future. I knew I didn’t really want to work for someone else, I knew I liked digital media and writing but that was it. University in general was not what I expected and I was at an all time low. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate history. I actually find it quite interesting, but University in general is really not all people made it out to be. I joined lots of new societies, some of which I absolutely love and I tried to embrace the social aspect of University (in other words, I went out a lot!). I was doing everything I had been told to do. I went to all my lectures, I joined loads of societies and I went out. So why was I still feeling like crap? My confidence was at an all time low and I started to go and see a counsellor. Over the summer of my first year, things got bad. I was not coping and I was finding no solace in my degree. I knew I had to make some changes.

Inspired by my boyfriend and advice from the counsellor, I decided to start going to the gym and the rest is history (excuse the degree related pun). I found something I love and could focus on for me. I have become more confident in myself and stronger physically and mentally. I started to consider what I wanted to do with my future and, for the first time, thought seriously about the fitness industry. If fitness had had this much on a positive impact on my life, how great would it be to be able to help someone else do that? I could work for myself, I could do online courses and work with people in person. I could carry on with my blog, I could YouTube and I could take my business anywhere in the world.

I went through school and sixth form being told to go into law or banking. I was told not to do a degree that wasn’t deemed ‘academic’ because I wouldn’t be making the most of myself. I’d have made a lot of money but I’d certainly not have been happy. I have found something I can really see a future in. I don’t regret going to do History. I will leave next year with a degree that I will have for the rest of my life and, if I would never have gone, I would have never found this route.

I’m going to give this PT course my best shot. I’m keeping my options open and focused in doing what is going to benefit me mentally and physically. I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do but I can promise you that whatever it is, I’m going to do it because it makes me happy and not because it makes me money.

pt

If you’re interested in following my journey to becoming a PT, check out my Instagram. If you have any questions about the course, what I’m up to or how I chose the course, pop me a message. 

Jamie x 

cropped-header.png

Leave a Reply

