Fitness Update: Where I’m at

Hey guys! I thought I would use this post to update you on where I am at with my fitness journey, how far I have come and how far I still have to go. I am writing this at a bit of a difficult time in terms of my body confidence. I am feeling like my progress has come to a halt and I can see very little difference physically between now and when I first started my journey. If you would have asked me a month ago the story would have been very different, but for the past few weeks my confidence has hit a bit of a low. I did a post a while a go suggesting that when you have a bad session, if you write down why you had that bad session you can start to make steps towards rectifying. I thought that maybe I could use the same techniques for this and let you guys know why I think I have had a confidence knock and how I am dealing with it.

First up, I think a lot comes down to compare and despair. I love having Instagram and I am extremely inspired by the incredible people on it but sometimes it can be difficult, particularly when you aren’t seeing the progress they are. It makes me feel like a bit of a con. I guess this is also linked to the fact I have been receiving a lot of negative comments online recently that have really knocked my confidence. So how am I dealing with this? Just like every other part of fitness, everyone’s journey is different and so I should not compare myself to someone who has perhaps been doing it longer or come from a different starting point to me. In terms of the negative comments, I think it is important to remain true to yourself and confident in your own personal journey. If I am getting repetitive, unhelpful and hurtful comments then it is in my best interests to remove that person.

Secondly, I think my body has reached a plateau and it is no longer seeing the benefits of my programme and eating habits as it once was. There really is only one way for me to rectify this and that is to change my programme a bit, which I have done and I am feeling a lot more positive. Don’t be scared of trying new things and spicing things up a bit.

Finally, I just feel a bit down. I have learnt overtime that this doesn’t make me weird or different and it is completely normal sometimes. There doesn’t have to be a particular reason. I have been having a lot of negative thoughts about myself and I have not been kind to myself at all. Fitness for me was never just about the way I looked, it was about how I felt mentally. It is important to find a good balance and train, not to punish yourself, but as a way to feel better about yourself.

I will continue to update you guys on my where I am with my fitness and how I am feeling about everything. I have no doubt I will get back to feeling confident in myself with a bit of hard work and a lot of self love.Β 

Jamie xΒ 

header

Leave a Reply

