My New Gym Programme…

Hey guys. As you’ll know if you’ve been following my for a while, I reached a bit of a plateau on my fitness journey. Basically, your body gets used to doing certain things and so to continue seeing progress it’s important to make sure you keep on reassessing your programme and monitoring your progress. After seeing some new exercises on YouTube and focusing my fitness goals more, I decided it was time to rethink my programme and incorporate some more complex and challenging exercises.

When mixing up your programme there are a lot of things you can do. Increase weight, increase reps, decrease rest time etc etc. It’s easy to just think that doing more will kickstart your progress again, however, when rethinking your programme remember to keep in mind everything you did at the start. Be realistic and remember that to see any results you need to be taking rests.

My new programme is an absolute killer. It’s nothing too fancy, just something I wrote up based on what I enjoy and what I think will challenge me enough. I thought I would share it with you guys for inspiration or even advice!

Day 1

Glute activation

Deadlift 5×5

Romanian Deadlift 4×8-12

Hip thrusts 4×6, 8, 10, 12 (pyramid)

Split squats4x8-10

Super set x 3 – Leg curl 12-15 DB Romanian Deadlift 3×15-20

Core

Day 2

BB Bench Press 5×5

Seated DB shoulder press 4×6, 8, 10, 12 (pyramid)

DB flys 3×8-12

DB lateral/front raises 3×15-20

Tricep pushdown 3×15-20

HIIT cardio

Day 3

Glute activation

Squats 5×5

Single leg Romanian deadlift 3×8-12

Glute work (isolation) 4×12, 10, 8, 6 (pyramid)

Leg press 4×8-12 (rest pause)

Seated leg extension 3×12-15 w/dropset

Core

Day 4

Assisted pull ups 4 sets

Single arm/lying DB row 4×8-12

Lat pull down 4×8-12

Seated cable row 3×8-12 (rest pause)

Face pulls 3×15-20

Standing DB curls 2×12-15

HIIT cardio

I have also added 2 sessions dedicated to cardio. I do about 40 mins low to moderate intensity. I try to fit this on every week on top of this programme but it’s not always possible which is fine! Since doing it, my cardiovascular fitness has increased loads and I’m actually enjoy it way way more.

Training should be flexible and there are alternatives if you don’t enjoy a certain exercises. I don’t mean avoiding things you find hard but we all have things we really really hate and it’s not worth ruining a session for. If you used this programme would love to see how you get on on Instagram so let me know!

Jamie x

header

Leave a Reply

